Gransnet forums

Technology

Best low energy use kettle?

(44 Posts)
Fleurpepper Fri 11-Nov-22 17:02:14

Ours has just conked out after many many years of service. I know it has become a joke because of Johnson, but

does anyone have info or a link to tests, as for WHICH, etc- about the best kettle to buy for low energy ratings. Thanks.

Jane71 Fri 11-Nov-22 17:26:57

I don't about Which recommend kettles, but we try to buy a slim one that can hold just enough water for one cup of tea if needs be. DH likes a cuppa at bedtime, whereas I keep off caffeine after about 6 pm.

Chestnut Fri 11-Nov-22 17:42:28

I don't think kettles are low energy at all really, so maybe you should try a water dispenser as there is a very interesting thread about them already:
www.gransnet.com/forums/house_and_home/1317490-Hot-water-dispensers-are-they-worth-it-which-one?msgid=29722628
I'm seriously thinking of buying one but my kettle still works okay.

Oldnproud Fri 11-Nov-22 17:59:26

I'm not a scientist, so expect to be corrected here, but won't it use the same amount of energy to heat X amount of water no matter what kettle you use? I just imagine that a low power kettle will do it more slowly than a high-power one, but with no saving either way.

Oldnproud Fri 11-Nov-22 18:01:02

That is assuming you are using mains electricity, rather t
han an alternative such as solar energy.

V3ra Sat 12-Nov-22 08:51:24

I'd say that the best way to use as little energy to boil a kettle as possible is to make sure you descale it regularly if you're in a hard water area, and only put in as much water as you actually need.

M0nica Sat 12-Nov-22 08:55:49

Solar energy is dependent on how much is being produced, even if the soar panels are on the roof. It would take a long time for solar energy to boil a kettle on a day like today with thick cloud and moving towards the winter solstice.

Abitbarmy Sat 12-Nov-22 09:03:17