Gransnet forums

Style & beauty

Beige with silver hair

(27 Posts)
HeavenLeigh Sun 03-Mar-24 11:47:22

Fascinating how some colours can look very drab with grey silver hair but as soon as you add a bright colour scarf it makes a world of difference as does brighter lipstick really lifts your complexion. I’m very new to this grey silver look having gone from very dark brown to natural colour and must admit I love being lighter and enjoying trying all different colours esp the jewelled colours

winterwhite Sun 03-Mar-24 12:30:15

Where does beige come in, OP? I never, ever, wear anything beige, and never did even before my hair was white.

Mel1967 Sun 03-Mar-24 12:33:23

I’ve been grey for a long time.
And wear whatever I feel good or look good in.
Any colour goes with grey

keepcalmandcavachon Sun 03-Mar-24 14:21:25

This is why I like a scarf heavenLeigh, I've always worn grungy shades but now the greys are sprinkling in I feel the need for a pop of citrine, peacock or even fuchsia.
My daughter noticed my grey highlights and told me that I now look intelligentgrin

pascal30 Sun 03-Mar-24 14:39:05

I think probably that the only colours that don't go particularly well with grey/silver are pastel colours and beige. But what I call greige does look good IMO.. any pale/dark greige, grey, white, black with a pop of colour looks good on me.. I personally don't wear blue but that can look lovely too.

HelterSkelter1 Sun 03-Mar-24 14:51:36

Yes yes fuschia teal emerald blue/red cobalt charcoal indigo greek blue mauve all the jewel colours go well with silver hair. Tan and khaki olive. Lovely

No no beige and pastels unless you want to disappear.

HeavenLeigh Sun 03-Mar-24 16:04:43

Winterwhite I love all colours. Probably depends on your skin tone although I’m fair skinned I have a yellow undertone I have several neutral colours in my wardrobes and loads of what I would call bold colours oranges reds etc