Gransnet forums

House and home

Garden room- new start

(43 Posts)
Cabbie21 Tue 13-Feb-24 09:09:39

I am in the process of clearing the garden room, which is an extension behind the garage. It gets the sun. I shall put the same curtains back at the patio doors but apart from that it is a blank canvas.
One drawback is that it is the only way through to the garden, so garden rubbish has to be taken through, needing a clear corridor.
We originally had the thought that if one of us was ill or needed a hospital bed it could become a bedroom, as there is a loo and shower room off it. But DH refused to use it.when he was ill.
Another thought is that I have no utility room and little storage space apart from the garage so maybe a built-in cupboard would be useful?
I am getting it decorated after Easter and am looking for ideas for colours and to furnish it. The curtains are heavy drapes with gold and russet colours. I plan to put in a laminate floor for ease of cleaning. I am not very good at interior decor. My daughter is, but her tastes are too modern for me.

Any thoughts appreciated. I am out all day so won’t be back to check until tea time. Thanks in advance. .

annsixty Tue 13-Feb-24 09:27:21

I am useless at decorating ideas so can’t help there but one thing I would say is when choosing a laminate floor get good advice as to quality and colour.
I have laminate in my conservatory which like your room gets lots of sun.
The laminate has faded very much.
I have a rug in front of the French doors to take the dirt off when coming in from the garden.
When the rug is lifted the colour is vastly darker to the surrounding area.
I remember some years ago posting about this on here and many people agreed with me.
If you are set on laminate I suggest you choose a very light colour.
I hope you love your room when it is finished.
My conservatory is my living room from April to October.

Germanshepherdsmum Tue 13-Feb-24 09:31:24

I was told that Karndean tends to fade in sunlight.