Gransnet forums

Chat

Driving anxiety

(74 Posts)
Jaffacake2 Wed 27-Mar-24 07:39:36

Wondering if anyone else is having difficulties driving due to anxiety ?
I have been driving for nearly 50 years but have stopped recently due to panic attacks whilst driving. It's only around local areas and I know the routes well having stopped motorway driving a few years ago.
It's been a difficult year with ill health,family stresses and all the normal ups and downs of life. I have back problems from decades of nursing which have caused nerve pain in my right leg and some numbness in my foot. Am trying to get this treated and seeing an osteopath tomorrow.
Wondering whether this has made me anxious and brake too much as subconsciously worried that I may miss the brake pedal.
Thinking of giving up the car and relying on public transport with the occasional uber.
What would you ladies do ?

Gingster Wed 27-Mar-24 07:45:11

I totally understand this Jaffacake. I’m only a local driver but with the traffic getting so busy and impatient, I have to have all my courage and concentration with me. I’m determined to keep going with the car, but if I could manage with public transport I would.

Try to persevere if you can . Good luck to you, we’re not the only ones. ☘️

AGAA4 Wed 27-Mar-24 08:00:49

Driving these days isn't easy. I am having similar thoughts about giving up driving as people are so impatient, drive too fast and take unnecessary risks.
If you are having panic attacks while driving it may not be safe for you to drive.
You could try relaxation techniques to see if that helps but if you feel very anxious it may be better to stop driving for a while at least. I know a few people who have given up driving and are happy they did. They have found more relaxing ways to get around.

Oopsadaisy1 Wed 27-Mar-24 08:24:45

When I had numbness in my right foot due to a spinal op I wasn’t allowed to drive as I couldn’t be sure that I could use the brake pedal.