Gransnet forums

Work/volunteering

Application forms ^not^ CV's

(8 Posts)
Dee1012 Tue 02-May-23 11:29:00

Why do so many people focus on a C.V ?

My employer and many others use application forms in their recruitment process as this provides a consistent platform to collate the same information for each person that applies. While a CV is still very important to have, for us, an application form that's competency based, gives us the opportunity to ask the specific information we require and filters out those individuals more committed to the process.

I work in the 03rd sector and have spent this morning shortlisting applicants for a post we have available.
Out of the 17 application forms only two people have completed the form in a way that allows me to invite them for an interview

It's maddening because looking at the work history of so many applicants, we know that they are likely to have the direct or transferable skills that 'fit' the role.

M0nica Tue 02-May-23 11:40:16

In my distant working days, companies made it clear, that if you wanted to apply for a job and they wanted you to fill in an application form for it, that was what you did. you were told CVs were not acceptable. If you did not fill in the form, you would not be considered for the post.

Dee1012 Tue 02-May-23 11:48:53

M0nica that's very common in my sector and yet I've heard of several people who are getting support because they are facing redundancy / have recently lost their jobs and the support focus is around CV writing and/or updating.

Personally, I think talking people through the STAR approach to structure answers and explaining how to deal with competency based questions in an interview would serve so many people better.

biglouis Tue 02-May-23 11:57:23