Gransnet forums

Technology

Urgent advice re Android phones needed !

(14 Posts)
Fair2good Thu 21-Mar-24 23:50:59

Can anyone here please give me some advice. I’m using a hand me down iPhone which is on its last legs. I would like to buy a cheap Android phone purely because of budget but I’m not good with technology and am actually really apprehensive as I read about malware and the need for anti virus on them. Can anyone recommend a very simple basic smartphone and tell me about the anti virus I would need. I’ve been looking at a Samsung A15. Many thanks if you can help. ( I asked my granddaughter and am more confused now than I was before ! )

MiniMoon Fri 22-Mar-24 00:04:27

I have always had an android phone, and have never felt the need of an anti virus app. I have a Samsung A32 and am very pleased with it.
My daughter loves her google phone but they are rather expensive.

Fair2good Fri 22-Mar-24 00:11:47

MiniMoon have you found the Samsung easy to use ? I need a bigger screen as I have cataracts and the old iPhone I have been using is too small.

Lilliesmum79 Fri 22-Mar-24 04:55:01

I have a Huawei Honor fone very easy to use and not too expensive. Don't need antiviris. I changed from iPhone in 2019 I too needed larger screen.

Louella12 Fri 22-Mar-24 05:51:21

I have a Samsung galaxy and its very easy to use. All. You need is time to play around with it and you'll soon be at peace with it!

Grammaretto Fri 22-Mar-24 06:13:12

I've never had an iPhone. My current Samsung Galaxy A34 suits me fine.
I use it for almost everything.
It is rather big. I wish it was smaller to fit neatly in my pocket but compared to a tablet its tiny.
No problem with malware.
It's new because I left my last phone on a plane and haven't managed to retrieve it.

Salti Fri 22-Mar-24 08:35:48