Gransnet forums

Pets

Strokes in dogs

(14 Posts)
Mazgg Mon 25-Sep-23 16:36:15

On Sunday morning my JRT woke me at 6a.m. When I went downstairs I found my old labrador (13) had been sick, urinated and pooed and couldn't stand up. Her eyes were going from side to side and her head was held on one side,
A trip to the emergency vet revealed that she had either had a stroke or had in inner ear infection that had caused vestibular syndrome. Apparently it causes very bad vertigo hence the eye movement and inability to stand as the room would appear to be spinning. Vet gave her injections and pills to be taken 3 times a day.
She is now eating small amounts and drinking water but is still unable to get out of her bed. I spoke to my own vet today and he said that a dogs brain has a great ability to reroute after a stroke and there is a good chance of full recovery.
Has anyone had experience of this?

Shelflife Mon 25-Sep-23 16:54:57

That is so distressing for you Mazgg.I have no experience / advice for you but do hope your Labrador recovers well. ,💐

Debbi58 Mon 25-Sep-23 17:39:59

My old lurcher had a stroke , she was around 11 at the time , she never fully recovered and after struggling on for a few months we felt it was kinder to put her to sleep, heartbreaking at the time

Oopsadaisy1 Mon 25-Sep-23 18:08:47

I hope she gets better soon, poor thing

Fleurpepper Mon 25-Sep-23 18:13:35

We had to adopt our DD's dachshund who was 16. A year later, he developped diabetes and needed daily insulin, and became almost blind. He was however still very happy and cheerful, and loved life. But one evening, he got up and keeled over to one side, then got up and keeled over to t'other. We knew the time had come.

He slept soundly with me next to him and the next morning our lovely vet came home and he was softly pts on my chest.

Thinking of you

Oldbat1 Mon 25-Sep-23 18:15:52