Gransnet forums

House and home

smell on plates and glasses after being in dishwasher

(18 Posts)
AussieGran59 Wed 09-Nov-22 01:22:43

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Mollygo Wed 09-Nov-22 02:35:10

No. I don’t have that problem thankfully, because I’d hate to be without my dishwasher, especially at family gatherings. Does that happen even if you wash without a tablet?

Esmay Wed 09-Nov-22 03:05:28

I also don't like that egg smell and wash any dish which has touched them separately .

I put half a lemon in the cutlery container regularly to deodorise items .
It works for me .

Whitewavemark2 Wed 09-Nov-22 06:42:38

Yes I put all my used lemons in the dishwasher.

GrannyGravy13 Wed 09-Nov-22 06:54:51

Have you put a dishwasher cleaner through in a long hot programme?

Do you clean your filter regularly?

I am not very good with odd smells, and have never had that problem, I do clean it and make sure I use a hot extended program regularly.

Hetty58 Wed 09-Nov-22 06:56:12

I've noticed it with some dishwasher tablets - and powders - but not others. Find one that you like. I use white vinegar, instead of rinse aid, as I don't like the idea of it remaining on the 'clean' dishes. Make sure that the salt is regularly topped up too.

Oopsadaisy1 Wed 09-Nov-22 10:36:04

Have you run a Dishwasher Cleaner through it? It sounds as though your filter or the hose might have residue in it.
Mine never smells and it’s pretty old, but I clean it twice a year and empty and wash the filter every couple of days.
I wouldn’t be without it.

sodapop Wed 09-Nov-22 12:39:07

I use the cleaner as well Oopsadaisy and clean the filter but not as frequently as you do. Never noticed any strange smells.

Norah Wed 09-Nov-22 12:44:15

White vinegar, I think, keeps our dishwasher clean, glasses clear.

Nannagarra Wed 09-Nov-22 21:07:35

Years ago I was advised by a dishwasher engineer to use citric acid on a service programme to eliminate a greasy (not to me eggy) smell.