Gransnet forums

Food

Lidl frozen turkeys - any good?

(38 Posts)
NotTooOld Wed 02-Nov-22 11:45:18

Just that really. We are thinking of getting one but wondering what they are like. It's the large crown we are thinking of getting. Has anyone tried it?

MawtheMerrier Wed 18-Jan-23 10:43:18

I have no experience of their turkeys but my friend and neighbour brought me a roast chicken dinner she had cooked on Sunday afternoon (Lidl free range chicken) and it was the nicest, most tender and moist chicken I have had for years!

Arimathea005 Wed 18-Jan-23 10:12:35

Message withdrawn as it quotes a deleted post.

DeniseJimenez Wed 18-Jan-23 10:08:26

Message deleted by Gransnet. Here's a link to our Talk guidelines.

Auntieflo Mon 26-Dec-22 13:55:51

Ilinn, that doesn't look right at all. I Googled, 'What is a Turkey Crown' and this description came up:-

A turkey crown is the body of the bird with the legs and wings removed, leaving the white breast meat attached to the bones.

So I would be inclined to take your photo into Lidl and ask the Manager what he thinks, especially as you have the photo of the packaging wrap.

ExperiencedNotOld Sun 25-Dec-22 19:48:45

Any turkey, however expensive (or cheap), fresh or frozen, just needs to rest for at least an hour after cooking to a maximum of the time recommended. Dry turkey is just over cooked and unrested. And yes, I’ve had Lidl turkey many times, Tesco this year.

Farmor15 Sun 25-Dec-22 19:16:44

Lidl frozen goose in our house this year - just 4 of us and enough left over for tomorrow. Delicious 😋

Mollygo Sun 25-Dec-22 18:35:22

Lidl turkey crown safely cooked and eaten here too.

Betsylee Sun 25-Dec-22 17:34:18

Husband and I have had roast beef today but have a Lidl turkey crown defrosting for tomorrow for the family so glad to know it's ok!
We buy their frozen chicken breasts and they are lovely.

Oldbat1 Sun 25-Dec-22 17:02:28