Gransnet forums

Estrangement

Grandaughter being alienated

(30 Posts)
MyHeart2387 Fri 29-Dec-23 23:05:26

Hello. I’m new to a forum but I am desperate. I’ll try to keep this as short as possible. My son has a daughter and things did not work out for him and the mother of the child. They never married. I believe that either the mother or possibly someone in her family is choosing to blame me for their breakup which happened 10 years ago when my grandaughter was just 6 months old. Just from things my granddaughter has asked over the last year has led me to this belief. I notice a definite difference in our relationship. I live out of state but come to visit at least three or four times a year. Prior to this past year, things have been great between us. Any advice?

crazyH Fri 29-Dec-23 23:21:50

It’s always so sad when grandparents are blamed. However, I am very pleased to hear that you have continued to have a good relationship with your little granddaughter. She is only 10 years old and is probably a little bit curious. Just give her all the love you can. Don’t explain too much. I am not very good at giving advice. Someone will come along soon with the right answers and advice. Good luck !

BlueBelle Sat 30-Dec-23 07:00:03

Sad situation but are you sure you are getting it right I wouldn’t read too much into it unless there’s much more showing up than comes across in your post. 10 years olds are going through changes in their lives, hormones starting, waiting for school changes coming up etc Personally I would have thought if the mother or family were on a bit of a witch hunt it would have happened around the break up time not ten years later
I would say carry on being the gran/Nan you ve always been and as she gets older answer any questions she asks, totally honestly

Smileless2012 Sat 30-Dec-23 09:28:42

Hello MyHeart and welcome to GN.