Gransnet forums

Estrangement

Guilt for going no contact

(138 Posts)
Loveandpositivity1 Sun 17-Sep-23 14:19:09

I have been NC with my elderly parents for many months now. My 2 siblings are now against me too, one more than the other. I am the middle one. Whilst I stand by my decision and KNOW its what to do for me, I get these incredible waves of guilt about what I have chosen to do. My thoughts go something like this...
"how can you do this to your mother and father. What's wrong with you? This is so extreme. Are they really that bad? Cant you just move on.You're making all of us miserable. You're going to send mum to an early grave." And on and on it goes. Can anyone relate?

Smileless2012 Sun 17-Sep-23 15:01:20

I can't relate because I've no experience of estranging a parent Loveandpositivity but I doubt your on your own about having feelings of guilt. I'd think it's quite normal, especially to begin with and you say you've been estranged for many months, not years.

Are the thoughts you're having based on what your siblings or other family members have said?

If you know that what you've done is the right thing for you, that's what you need to try and focus on and with time the guilt you feel right now will begin to subsideflowers.

AGAA4 Sun 17-Sep-23 15:49:53

I'm sure you haven't estranged your parents without good cause so no need to feel guilt.
Your siblings have their opinion but they shouldn't try to interfere and make you feel bad about your decision.
You will have feelings of regret at times but if you know you have done the right thing for you those feelings will fade given time.

Loveandpositivity1 Sun 17-Sep-23 17:22:21

Thank you for replies, appreciated. "those feelings will fade given time." Well said! Even at this point they have faded to what they were 2 months ago, so yes more time more fading. Thank you again, I guess today was a wave of guilt for me to deal with, it will pass. Replies have helped! smile

ParlorGames Sun 17-Sep-23 17:24:54