Gransnet forums

AIBU

AIBU - Husband

(49 Posts)
Mel1967 Thu 11-Jan-24 20:12:23

My Husband has a blood disorder.
One of the main side effects is fatigue - caused by a combination of the medication he takes for the blood disorder & the blood disorder.
I do everything cooking, washing, cleaning etc and also work full-time.
He does go to work and then when he gets in just sits.
AIBU

Aveline Thu 11-Jan-24 20:14:50

Yes

Smileless2012 Thu 11-Jan-24 20:15:01

If he's genuinely fatigued because of his illness and medication than yes you are. If he's using this as an excuse not to give you a helping hand, then no you're not.

Marydoll Thu 11-Jan-24 20:24:18

I have R.A and one of the symptoms is chronic fatigue. It is indescribable how it feels.
I worked full time as a teacher, was studying and looked after my mother with alzheimers. By the time I got home at night, I was fit for nothing.
If he is genuinely fatigued due to his illness, you should be glad that he is still able to work and should be more sympathetic. I had to to stop working in the end.

If he is using it as an excuse, then he needs to step up to the mark.

Georgesgran Thu 11-Jan-24 20:27:09

On the face of it, yes.
My DH also had a blood disorder (serious) and fell asleep every time he sat down.
Your sick DH also holds down a job, so I think you are being a bit unreasonable, if he is genuinely exhausted. As you both work, is there a lot of cleaning? Could you perhaps spare a bit of money and employ a cleaner for the bigger jobs?

Urmstongran Thu 11-Jan-24 20:34:51

Communication is key. Discuss this together. Better than asking us actually.

RosiesMaw Thu 11-Jan-24 20:37:25

He is ILL - I used to fret that mine left me to do everything until I realised he was not a well man, he died 6 years ago after 20 years of fighting considerable health issues.
Your DH sounds as if he is probably exhausted using up what resources he has on holding down a job.