Gransnet forums

Pedants' corner

Lack of Punctuation

(62 Posts)
Sparklefizz Thu 17-Aug-23 18:35:58

Why do some people not use any punctuation when typing? It happens on GN but also in other situations including a group where I'm an admin.

I just can't understand it. If someone can take the trouble to type out a long paragraph, why can't they use punctuation, particularly full stops, so that others can make sense of it? What is the reason for missing it out? Why should I waste my time trying to make sense of what they're trying to say?

Ok. Rant over. grin

Blondiescot Thu 17-Aug-23 18:54:51

Oh I know what you mean. I'm an admin on various other groups too and there are some serial 'offenders' on there. One woman types out screeds and screeds at a time - not one bit of punctuation whatsoever. It makes for very hard reading. I can never work out if they don't know how to use punctuation or just can't be bothered.
And punctuation is important. There's a big difference between 'Let's eat, Grandma' and 'Let's eat Grandma'! wink

Oldnproud Thu 17-Aug-23 19:01:23

There's a big difference between 'Let's eat, Grandma' and 'Let's eat Grandma'!

There is, but with that particular example, we manage perfectly well without any punctuation, or even a pause, in speech. 😁

Charleygirl5 Thu 17-Aug-23 19:08:54

I am partially sighted and get very irritated when in front of me is typing the length of a page of A4 with no paragraphs, never mind no punctuation. I do not bother to wade through it.

eazybee Thu 17-Aug-23 19:24:53

Of course speech is punctuated, by pauses, inflection, change in tone and people actually finishing what they need to say, provided they are not interrupted by others who won't let them complete their sentence.
Not using basic punctuation, even capital letters and full stops, is simply laziness, not ignorance.

Germanshepherdsmum Thu 17-Aug-23 19:30:51