Gransnet forums

Webchats

Daughter and family in Australia

(55 Posts)
Sleepless Thu 13-Oct-22 02:53:06

I’m new to gransnet and am a new Granny. My daughter currently lives in Perth with her husband and 6 month old. We endured the pandemic and were able to visit when the baby was born, they have also been over for a long stay this summer. They were booked to come for Christmas but (and I totally understand why) they have cancelled. My daughter is returning to work and they really don’t have the time and energy atm for the journey. My problem is I am knocked sideways by this and stunned by how miserable
I feel. We have a large family and two other children in the uk but right now it doesn’t seem to help. Every time a friend mentions they are ‘seeing the grandchildren this weekend ‘ or similar I fight tears. They say they are going to live in the uk again but I don’t really believe them, my son in law loves it there and so does my daughter although she is struggling with being so far away. Please don’t tell me to FaceTime etc - we do all the time and are always talking via WhatsApp. We will go out next year but the cost, discomfort etc is difficult. Added to which we can’t stay with them as they are in a small apartment so we have to pay for an apartment and we can’t go for a short visit due to the distance. We can’t afford to keep up these visits and also have other holidays with friends/family which if I’m honest I resent. I just wondered how other people deal with this and are able to reconcile it all.

Ning74 Wed 26-Oct-22 21:30:31

I wonder if you had thought of something like house/pet sitting as a way of spending mores time in Australia to be near your family there.