Gransnet forums

Pets

Dog sitting/insurance

(36 Posts)
Charleygirl5 Sun 05-Jun-22 22:25:03

Later this year I have agreed to look after a Yorkshire terrier for a week. I have met the dog and owners once but we will be meeting again a few times. No money will exchange hands, I was wondering if I needed some sort of insurance?

The owners only want the dog to spend time in my rear garden- they do not want him taken to a park and walked, even on a lead. As it will be winter I doubt if we will be going outside the front door.

Has anybody any ideas please?

TillyTrotter Mon 06-Jun-22 09:16:22

I have no experience to bring Charleygirl but bumping the thread as I am sure there are grans with the knowledge to help with this.
Lucky little Yorkshire terrier to be looked after by you. ?

Auntieflo Mon 06-Jun-22 09:18:39

Surely, if you are looking after the dog, out of the goodness of your heart, the dog owners should have some sort of insurance to cover any losses/ damage etc?

TillyTrotter Mon 06-Jun-22 09:34:55

A question that sprang to my mind was: will house insurance cover damage done by a dog being looked after - not owned by - a house owner
e.g. doors being scratched, carpet being chewed?

25Avalon Mon 06-Jun-22 09:41:36

He may well be covered by pet health insurance which most owners take out. This may or may not include cover for accidents such as the dog running out in the road and causing an accident. I would check with the owners. Also you will need to know about vet cover should the dog be taken ill.

cornergran Mon 06-Jun-22 10:01:41

That’s a good question charley. Sadly I’ve no idea! Having said that in your shoes I’d check with the owner to see if their insurance covers the dog while he is cared for elsewhere. If not can they arrange temporary cover for you? You’re saving them cash by offering to care for their pet for free.