Gransnet forums

Menopause

Help! ? I’ve got to stop the HRT!

(16 Posts)
FannyCornforth Sun 29-May-22 09:21:55

Hello
I’ve recently had to stop using gel and go onto patches.
They haven’t suited me as they won’t stop on.

And now it’s worse - I’ve got to stop taking it altogether as I’m having a THR next month (hallelujah).

It’s only been a few days and I’m already feeling hot, sweaty and murderous.
Are there any natural alternatives that may help me through this?
Please? ?

GagaJo Sun 29-May-22 10:00:33

I'd say harness the murderousness and sort out a few old scores.

I don't know about natural remedies, but avoiding ALL caffeine stopped all of my menopausal symptoms.

Riverwalk Sun 29-May-22 10:18:37

I'm not an expert but understood that you don't have to stop transdermal HRT prior to surgery, even major surgery.

Was it the surgeon who advised this - if not I'd check with him/her, especially if you're having such bad symptoms.

FannyCornforth Sun 29-May-22 10:34:03

Thanks both.
RW that’s exactly what I thought, and what I am still thinking, ie I can keep on with the patches.

I’ve looked on the internet, and that’s what is widely advised.

The nurse that I saw also said that she believed that patches were ok; but that she’d check with the surgeon.

She rang me back (and woke me up as I was exhausted from the pre op) and said that the surgeon said to stop it all together.
She also said that I’d be given some medication to lessen the chance of blood clots.

I’m going to call her tomorrow.
I’m having to put up with such a lot at the moment; feeling bad tempered and uncomfortable is something that I really don’t need.
And it’s not fair on DH either

Thanks again

timetogo2016 Sun 29-May-22 10:34:14

Open a bottle and drink the day away,you will soon forget about hrt.

FannyCornforth Sun 29-May-22 10:35:48

timetogo I already follow that regime! smile

mamaa Sun 29-May-22 10:42:22