Gransnet forums

Menopause

Hysteroscopy - I'm terrified!

(16 Posts)
alita Mon 24-May-21 14:37:18

Hi, I'm hoping someone can advise me on this. I'm 65, I've been on HRT for a while and now I'm having some bleeding. My GP has arranged for me to have a hysteroscopy to determine the cause. This is my problem - I had this procedure done about 5 years ago, and it was so incredibly painful and traumatic that the procedure was stopped and I had it done later under general anaesthetic.

Looking on the website, it seems my hospital still routinely does this procedure without any pain relief at all, and quite frankly, I feel quite ill and faint at the prospect of it. 5 years ago I would have referred to myself as fairly strong and able to cope with a little pain, but that just isn’t the case now.

Has anyone any advice at all about how to deal with this? TIA

Dogsmakemesmile Mon 24-May-21 14:44:25

I am sorry you are so frightened. I have no medical knowledge but I am sure your last experience of a this procedure will be on your notes. While the hospital may usually perform this without any pain relief there will always be exceptions. I am sure you could request sedation/general anaesthetic . Can you discuss this with your GP? Thinking of you.

Gannygangan Mon 24-May-21 14:51:02

HI alita

My friend has just gone through this procedure. Sailed through it but mentioned one lady who had needed to call a halt to proceedings due to intense pain. She was given a new date to come back for a GA.

Seeing as you've had one and it was very painful I'd hope your doctor is aware of this happening and maybe made necessary arrangements.

If not, tell them as soon as you arrive at your appointment and take it from there.

Just as an aside, not sure when your appointment is but could you ring your GP and explain the issue?

Tea3 Mon 24-May-21 15:12:07