Gransnet forums

Legal, pensions and money

I did something last night that I have never done before.

(20 Posts)
Floradora9 Fri 14-Oct-22 14:12:46

I had finished my online order to Tesco to be delivered to-day and looking at the total cost and the fact that I had just started a new month for my credit card .I decided to look again at the order to see if I could slim it down at all . I cancelled a few things that I could do without and reduced it a bit. Six months ago I would not have thought twice about what I was spending but I think things are not creeping up in price they are jumping .

annsixty Fri 14-Oct-22 14:23:09

My Sainsbury's order yesterday was delivered in the bottom of two boxes, one was food which could be squashed, hence two boxes, it would easily have got into one.
No meat as I have plenty in the freezer, one bottle of wine and one of Whisky which was on offer.
I put that away for C……s.
Basics really.
Cat food , increasingly expensive, bread milk ,fabric conditioner, cheese, nothing extra special.
It cost £72.
A couple of years ago when I could visit Aldi my trolley would have been spilling over the top for that amount.
I haven’t been able to go recently but I dare say their prices have also increased, but I am sure not to that extent.

teabagwoman Fri 14-Oct-22 17:43:51

Yes Floradora, me too though, when my shopping arrived, the bill was lower because of the items that were unavailable.

Charleygirl5 Fri 14-Oct-22 18:43:33

Waitrose is my nearest but I try to use it only for odd items like bread or cheese.

The Food Bank was desperate for adult toothbrushes and I can well understand why- I saw some sold between £4 and the most expensive £7. I looked twice in case 3-4 were being sold together but no, it was individually.

I found a couple for £1.something reduced by 50%.

Unbelievable

Redhead56 Fri 14-Oct-22 19:30:57