Gransnet forums

Culture/Arts

live music

(16 Posts)
Spottedscarf1976 Wed 21-Jun-23 08:52:25

Hello, I am new to Gransnet.
Over the last few months I have made a real effort to get out and try new things in order to meet new people to help address loneliness. I am now involved in some women's groups, book clubs, a writing group, fitness and crafts. I am feeling much better but now I want to do some other things. I would love to start going to concerts and away on my own (in the UK to start with). The one thing I used to love when I was part of a couple was live music - folk in particular but also jazz, blues and classical. Any ideas/suggestions would be much appreciated - I live in the North.

Saxifrage Wed 21-Jun-23 09:01:39

Have you thought of learning a musical instrument? When my teenage daughter gave up playing her saxaphone I decided to learn, had some lessons but very quickly decided to join a band to keep me at it. Am still in a couple of bands 30 years later. Play classical and jazz , lovely way to meet nice people and enjoy music. Most areas have a lot of amateur groups.

BigBertha1 Wed 21-Jun-23 10:05:19

Oh I wish I had known that we have just had a 3 day Folk and Boat festival here in East Cheshire- they have one every year. I think there are others around the countryside connected to the canal system. Apart from that pubs seem to be the best place to go for live music of all kinds have you thought of inviting someone from one of your other groups to go along with you?

Spottedscarf1976 Wed 21-Jun-23 10:05:51

Thank you @Saxifrage - I can play the piano but its quite solitary. Starting a new instrument sounds a good idea. The saxophone fits in with the type of music I enjoy, how long had you been learning when you felt confident enough to join a band?

M0nica Wed 21-Jun-23 10:17:49

Many classical orchestras and other cultural activities have 'Friends' groups, you could join these and they usually have social activities.