Gransnet forums

Care & carers

Husband going into care home

(36 Posts)
welshchrissy Fri 17-Jun-22 08:04:58

I have cared for my husband who has severe mobility problems for 20 years. Now after him being diagnosed with dementia and the having a stroke I can no longer cope. He is at present in a rehabilitation and assessment unit whilst waiting for a place in a suitable care home. I know that this is best and the safest for us both and he accepts it and knows we couldn’t cope with him at home. The occupational therapist is in full agreement as he needs help through the night and 2 people with equipment to get him out of bed or transfer him from chair to wheelchair. Why oh why do I feel so upset and guilty. Life is so lonely how does anyone else cope with this huge change

Marydoll Fri 17-Jun-22 08:11:13

I didn't want to read and run, as I have no experience of this.
What a sad situation for you.
You seem a very loving wife and have devoted your life to caring for your husband, it's time now to let others help.
Your health is also important and I am sure you must be permanently exhausted.

Wishing all the best in such a difficult situation.

Jaxjacky Fri 17-Jun-22 08:26:58

Logically you know it’s for the best, emotionally it’s very hard. You may find some support from Age UK, they might also direct you to local services or groups.
I’m hoping you have friends or family you can talk to at this difficult time.
Take care of yourself.

nanaK54 Fri 17-Jun-22 08:29:08

Sending kindest thoughts to you flowers

Sparklefizz Fri 17-Jun-22 08:31:38

I didn't want to pass on by, and although I have no experience of this, I realise it's very hard for you emotionally and just wanted to send you my very warm wishes flowers

Redhead56 Fri 17-Jun-22 08:34:10