Gransnet forums

News & politics

Rotherham Child Abuse

(249 Posts)
susieb755 Tue 26-Aug-14 18:23:29

I am apoplectic with rage at the inaction if SS and the police.

We pussyfoot around people ,so afraid to give offence and be branded racist, but it is not racist to investigate ! Sadly there is a lot of covert abuse taking place within some of our migrant communities, and we need to start talking about it

I attended a workshop by Karma Nirvana recently which left me in tears - as an equality officer I used to go along with the only sending an officer round when a male relative was present , and pandering to these cultural requirements - following this workshop, I know firmly believe that if people choose to live here, they should adapt to the British culture, as too many women are being abused , opressed and murdered due to these cultural norms

Totally non PC of me, but I dont care !

Mishap Tue 26-Aug-14 18:29:02

It is not non PC to care about children's safety. There should be no racial distinction about protocols for investigating this sort of crime.

Nonu Tue 26-Aug-14 18:37:57

It is a crying shame what has been done to these youngsters, wicked BASTARDS , people!

Maggiemaybe Tue 26-Aug-14 18:40:18

It is, Nonu, and the number of vulnerable children involved just beggars belief - at least 1400! How on earth could this have been allowed to carry on when at least some influential people knew about it?!

Ivanova5 Tue 26-Aug-14 18:50:04

I couldn't believe it when we were told that it wasn't a racist crime. How could it not be? Things like this are exactly what turn people into racists

Nonu Tue 26-Aug-14 18:50:40

As you quite rightly say MAGGIE it just beggars believe, suppose though it will be just brushed under the carpet, Because of the people involved!
heyho

VERY sad

susieb755 Tue 26-Aug-14 18:54:45

It is also racist in as much as the Pakistani men by and large target white girls - they would not 'dishonour' there own women and girls.